# THE SENATE

Consists of nineteen members, elected for five years, representing ten provinces.

### THE HOUSE OF DEPUTIES

Consists of eighty-two members, elected for three years, representing thirty-five departments.

Foreigners require ten years' residence to obtain citizenship, if unmarried; six years, if married; three years, if married to Chilenos.

According to present calculation, the militia force of the republic reaches forty-five thousand: forty battalions of infantry, eighty squadrons of cavalry, and eleven companies of artillery.

# THE ARMY,

Agreeably to the constitution, in time of peace consists of three thousand men: eight companies of foot and horse-artillery, two regiments of cavalry, and three battalions of infantry.

#### OFFICERS.

One Major-General,
Eight Colonels,
Twenty Lieutenant-Colonels,
Twenty-five Majors,
Thirty-four Captains,
Nine Adjutants,
Twenty-one Lieutenants,
Sixteen Sub-Lieutenants,
Two Surgeons-in-chief.

## THE NAVY

Consists of the Brig Achilles, twenty guns; Schooner Colocolo, eight guns.

# OFFICERS.

One Post-Captain,
Two Commanders,
One Lieutenant of Marines,
Three Pursers.

The late war with Peru has increased both the army and navy to