To Mr. Drayton I owe many acknowledgments for his constant and untiring zeal in all the departments of the Expedition, not only during the continuance of the Expedition, but since its return, while acting in concert with me in preparing the illustrations of the Narrative for the press. I cannot but congratulate myself that we should have been so fortunate in having one attached to the Expedition so well adapted to encounter, and from his former experience to overcome, the difficulties we have had to contend with in the progress of the publication.

The country is particularly indebted to the Joint Committees of two successive Congresses\* who have had the execution of the law for the publication of the results of the Exploring Expedition entrusted to them. They have afforded me all the assistance I could desire; and through the facilities obtained, I have been enabled to bring the Narrative to completion at a much earlier day than I at first anticipated.

To the Hon. Benjamin Tappan especially, I feel under obligations for the great interest he has ever taken in the Expedition. The law for the publication was originally reported by him; he was at an early day appointed the Agent of the Committee to superintend the whole work in its progress; and it has afforded me great pleasure, as well as satisfaction, to co-operate with one so competent to the task.

I am aware that some dissatisfaction was occasionally felt at the outset by a few of the naturalists, because they were not allowed all the opportunities

\* Members of the Joint Committee on the Library of Congress, at the Second Session of the Twenty-seventh Congress:

SENATORS,	REPRESENTATIVES.
Hon. William C. Preston, Chairman,	Hon. Joseph L. Tillinghast,
Benjamin Tappan,	John B. Aycrigg,
Rufus Choate.	Thomas D. Sumter.
At the Third Session of the Twenty-seventh Co	ongress:
SENATORS.	REPRESENTATIVES.
Hon. William Woodbridge, Chairman,	Hon. Joseph L. Tillinghast,
Benjamin Tappan,	John B. Ayerigg,
Rufus Choate.	Thomas D. Sumter.
At the First Session of the Twenty-eighth Con	gress.
SENATORS.	REPRESENTATIVES.
Hon. Rufus Choate, Chairman,	Hon. Edmund Burke,
Benjamin Tappan,	George P. Marsh,
John M. Berrien.	William B Maclaw

William B. Maclay.