Until this date the affairs of the Society had been conducted by committees, and their proposals were submitted to the members at ordinary or special meetings.

It was now decided to form a Council that should meet on the first Friday of every month at eleven o'clock precisely. The following members were selected, and the first meeting of the Council was held on June 14, 1810:—

G. B. Greenough, M.P., F.R.S., President.

Arthur Aikin.

Sir John St. Aubyn, Bart., F.R.S., V.P.

William Babington, M.D., F.R.S., V.P.

J. L. Count de Bournon, F.R.S., For. Sec.

Richard Chenevix, F.R.S.

Samuel Davis, F.R.S.

Robert Ferguson, F.R.S., V.P.

Leonard Horner, Sec.

Sir Abraham Hume, Bart., F.R.S., V.P.

James Laird, M.D., Sec.

Wilson Lowry.

John Macculloch, M.D.

Alexander Marcet, M.D., F.R.S.

W. H. Pepys, F.R.S., Treas.

Richard Phillips.

William Phillips.

Matthew Raine, D.D., F.R.S.

David Ricardo.

Peter Mark Roget, M.D.

Samuel Woods.

It will be apparent from the list of members that the first Council was composed of men representing not merely geology or mineralogy in particular, but many cognate sciences. This policy of selecting representatives of the wider interests of geological science has animated the Council throughout the history of the Society, and has proved of great benefit to the institution.

Some of the active and influential members in the early days of the Society, such as the presidents William Blake and William Babington, published no papers in the *Transactions* of the Society; and the same was the case with numerous members of Council—e.g. Sir John St. Aubyn, R. Chenevix, S. Davis, R. Ferguson, Sir A. Hume, Dr. J. Laird, W. Lowry, R. Phillips, Dr. Matthew Raine, David Ricardo, Dr. P. M. Roget, Samuel Woods, and Dr. J. Yelloly.

Of the early members of Council, Sir John St. Aubyn Bart., F.R.S., of Clowance, near Helston, and St. Michael s