- III. The department of Mollusks is divided into three classes, namely:
 - 1. Those which have arms about the mouth, like the cuttle-fish, (Cephalopods,) fig. 47.
 - 2. Those which creep on a flattened disk or foot, like snails, (Gasteropods,) fig. 88.
 - 3. Those which have no distinct head, and are inclosed in a bivalve shell, like the clams, (Acephals.)

The CEPHALOPOBS may be divided into

- a. The cuttle-fishes, properly so called, (Teuthideans,) fig. 47.
- b. Those having a shell, divided by sinuous partitions into numerous chambers, (Ammonites,) fig. 164.
- c. Those having a chambered shell with simple partitions, (Nautilus.)

The GASTEROPODS contain four orders:

- a. The land snails which breathe air, (Pulmonates.)
- b. The aquatic snails which breathe water, (Branchifers,) fig. 88.
- c. Those which have wing-like appendages about the head, for swimming, (Pteropods.)
- d. A still lower form allied to the Polyps by their general appearance, (Rhizopods or Foraminifera.)

The class of Acephals contains three orders:

- a. Those having shells of two valves, (bivalves,) like the clam and oyster, (Lamellibranchiates.)
- *A. Those having two unequal valves, and furnished with peculiar arms, (Brachiopods.)