On November 20, 1800, it was resolved: 'To associate as corresponding members such persons competently skilled in mineralogy, and not residing in London, as may be willing to transmit to the society, from time to time, lists of terms made use of by the miners and colliers in their neighbourhood, sketches of the mineralogy of different districts, accounts of strata pierced through in sinking shafts and wells, and such other circumstances as tend to illustrate the subterranean geography of the country.' Among the corresponding members elected in 1800 were Richard Kirwan, David Mushet, and Lewis Weston Dillwyn.

Up to this date the meetings were held once a fortnight during the greater part of the year, and the member whose name appeared first in the secretary's book was the recognised chairman for the evening.

On January 8, 1801, it was 'proposed that a president be annually elected.' W. H. Pepys was then re-elected secretary and treasurer; and on January 22, 1801, Arthur Aikin was elected president for the ensuing year. Apparently he continued as president during the existence of the society, with W. H. Pepys as secretary and treasurer, and C. R. Aikin as corresponding secretary.

Alexander Tilloch was then editor of the first *Philosophical Magazine*, and he published not only reports of the proceedings of both the Askesian and the British Mineralogical Society, but also some of the papers that had been communicated to them. In 1801 he announced that the latter society had lately circulated the following notice [April 16]:—

To Farmers and Persons engaged in Experiments on Agriculture.—The immense importance which, at all times, and particularly at present, is attached to improvements in agriculture, and the liberal encouragement to experiments in the art of cultivating the land offered by the patriotic views of the Board of Agriculture, have rendered it a desirable object to assist the inquiries of the farmer in that part

^{&#}x27;The Philosophical Magazine, comprehending the various branches o. the Sciences, the Liberal and Fine Arts, Geology, Agriculture, Manufactures, and Commerce.' (1798-1813.)