five already declared Fellows a total of 372. The honorary members were offered the privilege of being appointed Fellows without ballot on their signifying their desire to be so appointed, and on payment of the usual admission fee. Of the privilege so tendered, only six honorary members availed themselves. The others were retained on the list, with the right of attending ordinary meetings and of access to the Library and Museum (see p. 285).

On February 17, 1826, the full Council and the officers elected were as follows:—

President.

Dr. J. Bostock, F.R.S.

Vice-Presidents.

Sir A. Crichton, F.R.S. Rev. W. D. Conybeare, F.R.S. Dr. W. H. Fitton, F.R.S. Charles Stokes, F.R.S.

Secretaries.

R. I. Murchison.

Thomas Webster.

Foreign Secretary. Henry Heuland.

Treasurer.

John Taylor, F.R.S.

Other members of Council.

Arthur Aikin.

J. E. Bicheno.

W. J. Broderip.

H. T. Colebrooke, F.R.S.

Sir Charles Henry Colvile.

H. T. De la Beche, F.R.S.

G. B. Greenough, M.P., F.R.S.

Sir Charles Lemon, F.R.S.

Armand Levy.

Charles Lyell, F.R.S.

W. H. Pepys, F.R.S.

G. P. Scrope.

J. F. Vandercom.

Henry Warburton, F.R.S.

It may be mentioned that 'a society that is "incorporated by Royal Charter" is an official body publicly and legally recognised; it has perpetual succession and a common seal; and the statutes or bye-laws, which are framed for the ordinary guidance of the members, must be in perfect accordance with the stipulations or principles of the Charter. Societies of this kind naturally take pre-